Jan 24, 2011

BNP tops securing 97 while ruling AL wins 93 mayors

The voting to the 242  Municipalities held on four separate dates starting on January 12, 2011 and ending on January 18, 2011 in Bangladesh under seven divisions, Rangpur, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barisal, Dhaka, Sylhet and Chittagong respectively.

Results of election to the 236 municipalities have been published till now while 6 remains suspended. Main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) bagged the highest number of municipalities 97 nos. Mayors Posts achieving support from 18,51,337 voters (41.00% voter) while ruling Awami League bagged 93 nos. of Mayors Posts getting support from 17,80,575 (39.00% voters). 

Out of 72 Municipalities of Rajshahi and Rangpur Division, BNP got 33, BNP rebel 3 while Awami League 18, Awami League rebel 6, Jamaat 5, Jatiya Party 1 and others 6. As per Media report the election was held very peacefully marking record in the electoral history of Bangladesh in the two Divisions.  

Out of 49 Municipalities of Barisal and Khulna Division, BNP got 15, BNP rebel 2 while Awami League 25, Awami Rebel 4, and Independent Candidates 3. Here, the special dissimilarity happened that Awami League got 18 out of total 19 in the Barisal Division where clashes and irregularities marked the polling centers also setting another new record of indiscipline.     

Out of 63 Municipalities of under Dhaka Division, Awami League bagged 29 and Awami Rebel 4, while  BNP got 22 and BNP rebel 3 while Independent Candidates in 4. However, EC suspended declaration of result in 1 Municipality. The election environment was moderate peaceful some where and problems in few places. 

Out of 58 Municipalities of under Chittagong Division and Sylhet Division, Awami League bagged 21, Awami League rebel 2 while  BNP got 27, LDP 1 and Independent Candidates in 2. However, EC suspended declaration of result in 5 Municipalities under the two Divisions. 

Final Result Table:                     
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)  : 97 Mayor Posts
Awami League(AL)                            : 93 Mayor Posts
Awami League (Rebel)                      : 16 Mayor Posts
BNP (Rebel)                                      : 08 Mayor Posts
Bangladesh Jamaat Islami (BJI)         : 05 Mayor Posts
Jatiya Party (Ershad)                         : 01 Mayor Post
Liberal Democratic Party                   : 01 Mayor Post
Independent Candidates                   : 15 Mayor Posts
Total                                                : 236 Mayor Posts

No comments:

Post a Comment