Oct 8, 2010

Rugby Sevens competition to hold at CWG 2010 on 11 and 12 October

The Rugby Sevens competition considered as an important event of the 19th Commonwealth Games 2010 will be held at Delhi University of India on 11 and 12 October.

Rugby Sevens to be highlighted by the numbers as mentioned here:

2016 - Rugby Sevens will be an Olympic Sport for the first time at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.
1998 - Rugby Sevens appeared for the first time at the Commonwealth Games in 1998.

1883 - The first Rugby Sevens tournament was played at Melrose, Scotland, in 1883.

100 - A playing field of a Rugby Sevens match is 100 metres long and 70 metres wide, excluding the in-goal area.

91 - The total number of players to have won a CWG medal in Rugby Sevens.

40 - Conversion attempts, by drop-goal, must be taken within 40 seconds of scoring a try.

12 - A Rugby Sevens squad consists of 12 players - seven on the pitch and five substitutes.

5 - Five different CGAs have won a medal in Rugby Sevens.

3 - New Zealand have won all three Commonwealth Games titles since 1998. One player, Amasio Valence, was present in all three tournaments for New Zealand.

2 - The Rugby Sevens tournament at the Delhi 2010 is played over two days.

1 - Netball and Rugby Sevens are the only sports to have only one Gold medal at stake at the Delhi Games.

No comments:

Post a Comment