Jan 24, 2011

Opposition gains majority in Bangladesh Municipality Election

The voting to the 242  Municipalities held on four separate dates starting on January 12, 2011 and ending on January 18, 2011 in Bangladesh under seven divisions, Rangpur, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barisal, Dhaka, Sylhet and Chittagong respectively. 

Polling Date: January 12, 2011:
The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), the main opposition party of Bangladesh has won the maximum number of Mayor Posts though their candidates could not stand in front of hoodlums of ruling Awami League in maximum areas of Barisal Division and in Feni, Laxmipur and Noakhali Districts under Chittagong Division.

However, BNP did unimaginable result in the election in Rajshahi and Rangpur Division in the election held on January 12, 2011. 

Date: January 13, 2011:
Then the election to the Municipalities of Barisal and Khulna Division were held on January  13, 2011 where massive clash, capturing polling centers, expelling polling agents of opposition party supported candidates by ruling party candidates, snatching of ballot boxes by ruling party terrorists, fake ballot papers inclusion in ballot boxes by ruling party activists were happened. BNP boycotted election at least at four Municipalities on the incidents.

Bangladeshi media telecasted the incidents of capturing polling centers and other evil works directly.  

  Date: January 17, 2011:
Then election to the Municipalities of Dhaka Division was held on January 17, 2011 where clashes hampered  the image of election in Madaripur mainly. The election result were not declared in two municipalities where BNP men are leading as per center-wise counting of vote.

 Date: January 18, 2011:
Finally, election to the Municipalities of Chittagong Division and Sylhet Division was held on January 18, 2011. 

Election to the Municipalities of Sylhet Division was held peacefully. But clash and capturing polling centers by ruling party men through showing muscle-power and terrorism broke all previous records. The election was totally unaccepted to the people of the country as Media telecasted the seen of capturing and snatching peoples mandate clearly in the 15 Municipalities of Greater Noakhali of Bangladesh.

However election commission (EC) suspended election and voting at least at 25 centers on the back drop. EC also suspended declaration of election result at 6 Municipalities of the Chittagong Division till now.

Out of 72 Municipalities of Rajshahi and Rangpur Division, BNP got 33, BNP rebel 3 while Awami League 18, Awami League rebel 6, Jamaat 5, Jatiya Party 1 and others 6. As per Media report the election was held very peacefully marking record in the electoral history of Bangladesh in the two Divisions.  

Out of 49 Municipalities of Barisal and Khulna Division, BNP got 15, BNP rebel 2 while Awami League 25, Awami Rebel 4, and Independent Candidates 3. Here, the special dissimilarity happened that Awami League got 18 out of total 19 in the Barisal Division where clashes and irregularities marked the polling centers also setting another new record of indiscipline.     

Out of 63 Municipalities of under Dhaka Division, Awami League bagged 29 and Awami Rebel 4, while  BNP got 22 and BNP rebel 3 while Independent Candidates in 4. However, EC suspended declaration of result in 1 Municipality. The election environment was moderate peaceful some where and problems in few places. 

Out of 58 Municipalities of under Chittagong Division and Sylhet Division, Awami League bagged 21, Awami League rebel 2 while  BNP got 27, LDP 1 and Independent Candidates in 2. However, EC suspended declaration of result in 5 Municipalities under the two Divisions. 

Final Result Table:                     
Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)  : 97 Mayor Posts
Awami League(AL)                          : 93 Mayor Posts
Awami League (Rebel)                     : 16 Mayor Posts
BNP (Rebel)                                    : 08 Mayor Posts
Bangladesh Jamaat Islami (BJI)         : 05 Mayor Posts
Jatiya Party (Ershad)                         : 01 Mayor Post
Liberal Democratic Party                  : 01 Mayor Post
Independent Candidates                   : 15 Mayor Posts
Total                                                : 236 Mayor Posts

1 comment:

  1. sbo
    thnx for nice work
    and pretty simple example but
    where can i see the form i m not able to see the dorm created by module??livescore