Dec 2, 2010

Elections to 269 municipalities of Bangladesh in January 2011

The Election Commission (EC) of Bangladesh has announced schedules for long awaited municipal elections to 269 municipalities under seven divisions of the country. The elections will be held in a staggering way on Jan 12, 13, 17 and 18.
Chief election commissioner ATM Shamsul Huda announced the polls schedules on Thursday at the commission's conference room in Dhaka of Bangladesh.
Among the 310 municipalities, 269 will go for the elections.
Of the remaining municipalities, the terms of 17 are yet to expire while 24 are facing a legal bar to holding elections.
A total of 27 municipalities under Rangpur Division and 49 under Rajshahi Division will go for polls on Jan 12. The last date for submitting nomination papers is Dec 13, while that for scrutiny are Dec 14 and 15, and for withdrawal of nomination is Dec 26 this year.
Elections to 33 municipalities under Khulna and 21 of Barisal divisions will be held on Jan 13. The last date for submission of nomination is Dec 15, while that for scrutiny are Dec 18 and 19, and for withdrawal of candidature is Dec 27.
Dhaka Division, which comprising the maximum number of municipalities, a total of 70, going for polls on Jan 17. The last date for seeking nomination is Dec 18, which will be scrutinised on Dec 20 and 21. Nomination papers can be withdrawn until Dec 27.

Chittagong and Sylhet divisions will hold elections to their municipalities, 53 and 16 respectively, on Jan 18. Nomination papers can be submitted until Dec 19 and those will be scrutinised on Dec 22 and 23 and can be withdrawn by Jan 2.
Elections will be held for a total of 269 mayoral posts, 2,534 councillors and 874 reserved women councillor posts.
Such simultaneous municipal elections were last held from May 5-10, 2004. The elections to term-expired nine municipalities were held along with the city corporation polls in 2008.

No comments:

Post a Comment